Food Project: Day #2

17 May

For breakfast, I ate:
– 1/2 cup dry oats cooked (w/ a tablespoon of grape jelly to sweeten): free at home. I didn’t have any sugar, agave, or brown sugar left, so I improvised with the jelly, which was okay.
– 12 oz cup of coffee: $1.75/free at Coffeetopia. After wasting  $2 yesterday on coffee, I decided I would have to go without it. But then! after lamenting the absence of coffee in my life, my house mate gave me a gift card for $10 to Coffeetopia! I was apprehensive about accepting it, because I wanted to have a “no mooching” policy. In reality, though, if this were my budget, I would gladly accept free food.

For lunch, I ate:

– a tuna sandwich that I made at home and ate on campus.

For dinner, I ate:
– 1 packet of chicken flavored Ramen: $.67. I made this into more of a meal by adding a scrambled egg and some frozen corn. (This also made me think of a new food project idea: only eating one color food a day. In this case, everything I ate was yellow.) It was good, but probably not too nutritional.

I got the munchies, and I ate:
– 1/2 a bag of popcorn
– 1 cup of hot chocolate
–  a bunch of unsulfured, sweetened & dried mango
I found all of these things in my cupboard

Overall expenses today: …wait, did I spend any money today?!? I bought the Ramen on Sunday…

Wow! Good job, me.

Leave a comment