Food Project: Day #5

20 May

Today, I knew I wanted to make something tasty this morning, and I had some time, too.

I used the last piece of (expired) bread and a banana to make one of my old favorites.

For breakfast, I ate:
– 1 slice of toast, w/ a sliced banana, peanut butter and honey
– 1 small pot of black tea

Then the starvation began. When I was hiking around up to campus, I started to really feel it. I ate that meal around 8:45, and didn’t eat again until after 2. I usually snack too much!

My sister was on her way up to do homework with me, so I waited for her to eat. We went to get falafel and the Falafel House on Walnut Ave. and it was amazing! I also had a mango tea. It was free for me, but cost Briana $14+ bucks, which was probably unfair for her. I asked to try Briana’s drink and told her to try mine. She tried mine, and I grabbed her bottle and shook it before taking a sip…except the lid wasn’t on and I drenched myself with pink lemonade.

We got coffee at Coffeetopia, and I used my gift card…for myself. Jeez, that was pretty selfish. I only have a dollar left on it, but I could have put it towards her drink since she bought my lunch. We also got baklava, which was so so good. This was the first pasty/sweet anything I have had since Sunday. I don’t usually buy or eat too many sweets, but when I want them, I don’t usually resist them like I have had to this week. I guess if I am going to make the choice to go out to eat, I shouldn’t just rely on someone else to pay for me. That’s pretty inconsiderate.

Later that night, while Briana and I were doing homework together, we ate the last bag of popcorn that I had in my cabinet.

Before she drove back home, we walked to CVS and got some much-needed candy and ice cream. I faltered! A week of decent eating and really good show of constraint on my part, and I finally gave in for some sweets.

I surprisingly didn’t end up spending all of the cash that I had allotted for the week: the $21 available to those on the “Welfare Diet” in America.

Leave a comment